ODI Cricket World Cup Winners

ICC Cricket World Cup Winner List 1975 to 2023

The ICC Cricket World Cup is one of the most prestigious international cricket tournaments where ODI matches are played. Cricket is one of the most watched sporting events in the world. The International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes the event every four years. Here is the full article about the ICC ODI Cricket World Cup winners:

Cricket World Cup

The ICC ODI Cricket World Cup was first held in England in 1975. The teams played it as part of a series of one-day matches with 60 overs per team. It was first held outside England, in India and Pakistan, in 1987. The number of overs per team was reduced to 50 in 1987. The International Cricket Council (ICC) organizes the ODI Cricket world cup every four years. In the past 13 editions of the ODI Cricket World Cup, 6 countries have  won the titles of world champions. The ODI Cricket World Cup 2023, which was the 13th edition, started on October 5, 2023, and India and Australia played the final match on November 19, 2023. Australia defeated India by 6 wickets in the final of 2023 World Cup and became world champion for the 6th time.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners and Runner-up List 1975 to 2023

Australia is the most successful country that has won 6 world championships. In 2007, Australia became the first team to win three consecutive World Cups. India and the West Indies are the only two countries to have won the World Cup twice each. India won the World Cup in 1983 and 2011, while West Indies won in 1975 and 1979. The last 50-over World Cup, which was held in 2019, was won by England. Here is the list of winners and runners-up of the ODI Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2023.

ODI Cricket World Cup Winners List
Year Host Winner Runner-up Results
1975 England West Indies Australia The West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies England The West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India West Indies India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia England Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka Australia Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia Pakistan Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia India Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India Sri Lanka India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and Wales England New Zealand Match tied after regular play and super over; England win on boundary count
2023 India Australia India Australia won by 6 wickets

World Cup Winners Team

Most Titles Winners and Runners in ODI Cricket World Cup

Australia is the most successful team in ICC ODI World Cup, winning the World Cup 6 times and finishing second 2 times. After Australia, India and West Indies won the World Cup 2 times. The International Cricket Council (ICC) organized the ODI Men’s World Cup 2019 in England and Wales. The host country England won this World Cup for the first time. Australia won the earlier ICC ODI Men’s World Cup 2023 held in India by 6 wickets. Here is the list of ODI Cricket World Cup winners by country:

Team Final Appearances Winners Runners Years Won Year Runners
Australia 8 6 2 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, 2015, 2023 1975, 1996
West Indies 3 2 2 1975, 1979 1983
India 4 2 2 1983, 2011 2003, 2023
England 4 1 3 2019 1979, 1987, 1992
Pakistan 2 1 1 1992 1999
Sri Lanka 3 1 2 1996 2007, 2011
New Zealand 2 0 2 2015, 2019


The ICC Cricket World Cup is a premier international cricket tournament that has played a pivotal role in shaping the sport’s history and captivating fans worldwide. Since its inception in 1975, it has become a stage for cricketing nations to showcase their passion, talent and competitive spirit. The World Cup has produced legendary moments and iconic matches.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *